The Happy Baby Project

A happy baby needs a happy mum

Time: An update

2 Comments

I once wrote about Time on this blog – my son was very young and the gist of the blog post (I know you don’t have much time either, ladies) was that I was finding I didn’t have very much of it.

But now Mr S is almost 11 months, and I’m going back to work, and something most surprising has happened.

I have found I now DO have more time. I’ve made my own time – wrung every last minute out of the washcloth of life. I am now the Master of Time – I control time, I plan time, I break it up into itty bitty pieces, I multi-task, I do things in 7 minutes I never dreamed I could fit into such a small window – like having a shower, sending 3 emails, 6 texts, making & eating breakfast and emptying the dishwasher.

If I find an unplanned 5 minutes of spare time while waiting on a platform, or while S naps – oh what a luxury! I will take that 5 minutes and do something useful – like sorting out the receipts in my wallet or re-organising a cupboard.

I can leave the house at 10.30am for a 10.50am music class that is 17 minutes away – I get there quickly because I now walk with a pram as fast as a cheetah on speed, and I can manage to pop into Boots for formula, Cargo for a cushion cover, and Tesco for milk, and STILL find time to chat to my NCT friend before class starts.

I live my life by to-do-lists and reminders and diary entries. If I lost my iPhone, I would be lost, full stop.

But that’s not to say I don’t use time as DOWN time. I need my down time to have energy for when S is awake and for all the housework that needs to be done before bedtime – these cupboards won’t re-organise themselves.

I am a watcher of The Real Housewives of Beverley Hills, I am a reader of historical fiction and Nora Ephron. I am an eBay queen and a social media lurker. I try to find time each week to call a good friend and to facetime my mother.

I suppose I am just a mum – this is what we do. This is what my mum did and her mum did, all the way down the line.

I can’t even imagine what I’m going to do with the 40 minute commute to work – such a wonderful amount of time. The possibilities are endless, or I might just spend the entire time googling the JoJo Maman Bebe website…

2 thoughts on “Time: An update

  1. Oh this is so lovely to hear! Hurrah to not having time for office politics! And well done you, you sound like you’ve got it sorted brilliantly! Are you part time and what childcare do you have? x

  2. Sounds like you’ve got it downpacked! It is incredible how efficient one becomes – I went back to work in January and have been amazed at how much quicker I get things done and what seems trivial now (like “whatever” to office politics), and have been surprised at how much I enjoy it too. It is great having that balance of time to be you and seeing the smiles on their faces when they see you at the end of the day. Enjoy work lady! I’ve been reading Game of Thrones on my commute – ahhhmazing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,638 other followers